Back In The West Midlands!

Yesterday i was lucky enough to once again attend, and perform at the West Midlands Vegan Festival in Wolverhampton and what a fine day i had!

image3

Look at all those vegans!!!

I enjoy the West Midlands Vegan Festival so much that for 4 out of the last 5 years i’ve performed at the festival, dragging myself out of bed at 5am to begin the long journey from Devon to Wolverhampton, just so that i could attend and be around splendid like minded folk.

A big thank you must go to Kevin White and his team who give a platform to myself and other vegan artists. It can’t be easy organising an event this size but they pull it off every year!

I was on stage at 11:15am and before my set i got to watch Jazzy Heath sing a few songs and an impressive fire dancing performance before i took to the stage.

I really enjoyed my performance, it felt great to be there and sing a selection of my vegan songs. I took the occasion to perform a brand new song, one that i’d only finished recording on the Wednesday earlier in the week. You can buy and stream it from my Bandcamp page – https://rossmayhew.bandcamp.com/track/were-the-ones

As you can see in the photo below i had my green smoothie by my side on stage, you know just incase i suffer a protein shortage while performing.

image6

Big thank you to my friend Rob from Exeter Friends For Animals for snapping this photo!

After my set it was on with a day of catching up with friends and watching other acts take to the stage. I was lucky enough to see the vegan poet Dominic Berry perform 2 sets, he’s an amazing performer! I also got to see Sheena Bratt perform before i had to begin the journey back home.

Of course there was plenty of time to get a haul of snacks and goodies during the day. Next year if the fates allow i’ll stay for the whole weekend – Thank you Wolverhampton!


We’re The Ones

As mentioned above i performed my new single at the festival. It’s a simple 2 and half minute rock and roll inspired song that celebrates vegans, we get a lot of stick for trying to make the world a kinder place.

I chose to release the song on the 29th not only because it coincided with my performance at the West Midlands Festival but because it was also the day of the Animal Rights March in London. Thousands of vegans took to the streets to protest for animal rights and i wish i could’ve joined them!

I saw many photos from friends who are members of Devon Animal Save and Exeter Friends For Animals on the march. It looked like an amazing thing to be a part of.

Here is the opening verse to my song, which sums things up well,

“we’re the ones trying to save the world, 
we’re the ones giving hope to every soul, 
we’re the ones who care enough, 
the vegan generation who are standing up”

artwork-were-the-ones

Hope you enjoy the song!

Cheers for reading, until next time!

 

This entry was posted in Single, vegan, veganism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

